Xavier University-Ateneo de Cagayan – XU (Philippines)

Xavier University is a private Catholic and Jesuit university located in Cagayan de Oro City, Northern Mindanao, Philippines. It was founded in 1933 as a high school for boys under its original name Ateneo de Cagayan. Twenty-five years after, Ateneo de Cagayan was declared a university in 1958 and was renamed Xavier University – Ateneo de Cagayan, in honor of St. Francis Xavier. It became the first university in Mindanao and the first Jesuit university in the Philippines.

Also called endearingly as Xavier Ateneo by its students, staff and alumni, it continuously aims to provide quality wholistic education (#ExperienceExcellenceAtXavierAteneo). Xavier University curretly has 6,728 students, 531 academic staff, 38 undergraduate programs, 2 professional schools, 23 master’s programs, 4 doctorate programs. There are seven academic programs recognized by the Commission of Higher Education (or CHED) as Centers of Development, and five of these are engineering programs; and two academic programs are recognized by CHED as Centers of Excellence. Xavier University is also ranked by QS University Rankings – Asia in 2006, and in 2021.